World Vision China Provided Immediate Relief Assistance in Shicheng County, Jiangxi Province

3,190 kilograms of rice
 
7,510 liters of cooking oil
 
6 beneficiary townships
 
10,700 beneficiaries
 
In recent days, World Vision, in cooperation with Emergency Management Bureau of Shicheng County and Shicheng County Charity Organization, distributed flood relief materials to a total of 10,700 survivors in six townships, including Fengshan Township, Zhukeng Township, Dayou Township, Pingshan Township, Qinjiang Township and Longgang Township, in Shicheng County, Ganzhou City, Jiangxi Province.
▲ On the distribution spot
Jiangxi province was one of the worst-hit provinces in early June after heavy rains in southern China. World Vision staff immediately went to the disaster area to conduct rapid needs assessment.According to the actual needs in the affected area, World Vision allocated funds to purchase rice and cooking oil to respond the needs. The relief supplies were distributed in late July and early August.
 
At the distribution site, the Emergency Management Bureau of Shicheng County required all beneficiary townships to strictly follow the distribution procedures of disaster relief materials, ensure the distribution is open, fair and just, and ensure that disaster relief materials are distributed to the affected people who needed mostly. Under the organization and arrangement of the counterpart, the affected people earnestly signed on the beneficiary namelist and received relief materials in an orderly manner.
▲The flood affected people read the beneficiary namelist carefully.
▲World Vision staff checked by sample to ensure the weight of one bag of rice reach the minimum international humanitarian standard.
 
▲The flood affected people signed on the beneficiary namelist with staff’s instruction.
 
▲The flood affected people received the rice.
 
Don’t need to worry about food supply!
 
Xiaojian, a 15-year-old boy who’s at his second year in middle school, have been taken care of by his grandparents in Shicheng County after his father passed away and mother left a few years ago. The family survived by grandpa growing white pond lily, rice, and fish. Because grandpa and grandma don’t have other skills to earn a living.
 
The flood had destroyed a lot of farmland in Shicheng County, including the 18 mu rent field that Xiaojian’s grandpa had cultivated.
 
Recalling about the flood, Xiaojian said, “I was so sad that thinking of grandpa and grandma’s hard work being destroyed. Harvest gone with the flood and it would be even tougher for our family than before.” For the sake to lessen their economic loss, the family went to the farmland to rescue what can be saved after the flood.
 
However their effort, the family certainly face a severe lost. Not only their income lessened gravely, grandpa even have to find a way to pay their rent of the farmlands, which worsen the situation and make the food shortage a big problem to the family.
▲ Xiaojian’s grandpa signed the beneficiary namelist with staff’s help.
 
The grandpa and the grandson came to the distribution place early, received 30kg of rice and 5 liters of cooking oil. Grandpa beamed with big smiles and Xiaojian was happy as well. The rice and cooking oil lift a severe burden off their family. Now grandpa don’t need to worry about how to raise money to feed the family in recent time.
 
Xiaojian told World Vision staff, “I am happy for grandpa and grandma, because (the relief supplies) help them to unburden. I can feel the love and warmth towards our family from the society.”
▲ Cooking oil was given to Xiaojian and grandpa.
 
After their urgent issue being resolved, both grandfather and grandson clearly had a good mood that Xiaojian shared his dream of being a teacher in the future with World Vision staff actively. ”I am going to study hard, and be a person who could serve the society, to help people in need, and to respect and take good care of grandpa and grandma.”
 
The emergency relief materials can only temporarily relieve the family economic pressure of the flood affected people. It hopes that they can build up their confidence to overcome the disaster, under the leadership of the local party committee and the government, as soon as possible to resume production and life.

南方水灾救援︱世界宣明会在江西石城发放救灾物资

3190公斤大米
 
7510升食用油
 
6个乡镇
 
10700人受益
 
近日,世界宣明会与石城县应急管理局和石城县慈善会合作,在江西省赣州市石城县丰山乡、珠坑乡、大由乡、屏山镇、琴江镇和龙岗乡等六个乡镇发放洪涝灾害救灾物资,共计10700人受益。
▲救灾物资发放现场
 
6月初,南方连降暴雨,江西省是受灾最严重的省份之一。世界宣明会工作人员随即前往灾区勘察灾情,了解受灾群众需求。根据灾区的实际情况,世界宣明会调拨资金采购了大米和食用油。这些救灾物资已于7月底8月初完成了发放。
 
在发放现场,石城县应急管理局要求各受益乡镇严格按照救灾物资发放程序,确保捐赠物资发放公开、公平、公正,确保救灾物资真正发放到受灾群众手中。在石城县应急管理局的组织安排下,受灾群众认真地在花名册上签字,并有序领取救灾物资。
▲受灾群众查看公示的受益人名单。
▲世界宣明会工作人员抽查每袋大米的重量是否达到15公斤。
 
▲受灾群众在花名册上签字。
▲受灾群众领取救灾大米。
 
三餐有着落了!
 
小建今年15岁,是石城县一名初二学生。前几年父亲去世,母亲离家,所以他这几年一直都由爷爷奶奶抚养。家里的日常开销全靠爷爷种植白莲、水稻和养鱼的收入支撑。
 
6月份的洪灾淹没冲毁了石城县很多人家的农田,小建爷爷租种的18亩地也都受灾惨重。自从遭遇了洪涝灾害,小建一家就开始天天忧心一日三餐。
 
回想起灾害发生的时候,小建说:“当时内心很难过,想到爷爷奶奶辛辛苦苦种的白莲和鱼苗就这样被大水冲毁了,今年的收成没有了,家里就更困难了。”因此,灾难过后,小建和爷爷奶奶齐心协力下田把被冲倒的农作物扶起来,努力挽救,尽量减轻家里的经济损失。
 
尽管一家人努力补救,今年家里的辛劳仍旧付诸东流。家里不仅收入锐减,爷爷还要想办法支付田地的租赁费。家庭经济状况入不敷出,让一家三口的日常温饱都成了问题。
 
▲小建的爷爷在签领救灾物资。
 
▲小建和爷爷领到了救灾物资。
 
在救灾物资发放当天,爷孙俩一起早早来到发放现场,在工作人员的帮助下签领了30公斤大米和1桶5升的食用油。爷爷笑逐颜开,小建也很开心!因为救灾物资减轻了他们的家庭负担,爷爷短时间内不用犯愁如何筹钱购买粮食,来解决家里的温饱问题了。小建告诉工作人员:“我替爷爷奶奶感到开心!因为(救灾物资)减轻了他们的负担,我感受到了社会对我们家的关爱!感受到了温暖!”
 
解决了燃眉之急的爷孙俩心情很好,小建还主动跟世界宣明会工作人员分享了他的梦想,他希望长大后能成为一名教师:“我要好好读书,将来做一个对社会有用的人,帮助更多需要帮助的人,好好孝顺爷爷奶奶。”
救灾物资只能暂时缓解受灾群众的家庭经济压力,希望他们增强战胜灾害的信心,在当地党委、政府的带领下,尽快恢复生产生活。