Story of Moon

World Vision has helped many children from western Guangdong by setting up children centres with funding from Chow Tai Fook and building a child-friendly environment with support from the Kerry Group Kwok Foundation. The shy girl Moon is one of the children who have grown up and sparkled with such help.

▲Moon who used to be shy

Moon left Guangxi and followed her father and her elder brother to Yangjiang of Guangdong for a new life. Her mother is working away from home; her father makes a living by selling things in the wholesale market; her elder brother is a third-grade middle school student and is too busy with his study to take care of his 11-year-old younger sister. Due to difficulties in language and unfamiliarity with the community, it was hard for Moon to adapt to the new environment. She wanted to make new friends, but didn't know how to get started. She wanted to pour out her troubles, but no one listened.

The social workers staying in the village noticed the desire and hesitation in her eyes to communicate with others, so they offered to make friends with her, listened to her troubles, and invited Moon to take part in the activities of the social worker station. After discovering Moon's artistic talent, they encouraged Moon to express herself boldly, and Moon was selected as a little teacher for the drawing and handwork classes.

▲ Moon helped other kids to draw

With support from the social workers, Moon has transformed into a lively and confident girl. She takes an active part in the various activities held at the social worker station each weekend, such as the young volunteer team, young travel guide team, and children protection training. She introduces the social worker station to her schoolmates and takes them to play at the social worker station. She can even propose some activities and make preparations with her friends.

Early this year, Moon and her friends organized a "snack party". Moon and her friends played a leading role from the design of the activity processes, the writing of the host's script, the purchase of materials, to the hosting and conducting of the activity, and the social workers only provided some assistance. Through the training on little community guide at the social worker station, Moon has increased her understanding of communities and become a little guide who’s able to show others around the community and tell stories about the community.

▲Moon as host of "snack party"

▲ Moon designing games with peers

There are many children confronted with the same situation as Moon in the many communities of western Guangdong. It is more difficult for them to grow up than other children. They need more help from society. The social workers are trying to find them and support them besides their family and school. Through various activities and communications, they would grow up with more care, accompany and encouragement from the social workers, to have greater ambitions. With such love and help, it is hopeful that Moon and those children alike can grow up more healthily and happily.

▲ Moon who becomes more and more confident

小月的故事

宣明会通过周大福的资金设立儿童中心,通过郭氏基金会的支持建立儿童保护的环境,帮助了很多粤西的孩子。腼腆的小月就是在这些帮助下成长绽放的一个孩子。

▲腼腆的小月

广西的小月跟着爸爸和哥哥到广东阳江来开始新生活。妈妈在外地打工,爸爸在批发市场中卖东西维生;哥哥则在念初三,学业繁忙,无暇照顾11岁的妹妹。因为语言不通、对社区也不了解,小月有些难以融入新环境。她想交新朋友,但不知道如何迈出第一步;想倾诉烦恼,也无人聆听。

驻村社工发现了小月眼中与人交流的渴望和迟疑后,主动跟小月成为朋友,聆听她的烦恼,也邀请小月参加社工站的活动。在发现小月的艺术天赋时,更是鼓励小月大胆表现自己,担任绘画和手工兴趣班的小老师。

▲小月指导其他儿童画画

现在的小月,已经在社工的支持下,蜕变成了活泼大胆而自信的女孩:她每个周末都积极参与社工站举办的活动,小志愿者队伍、小导游团队、儿童保护培训里,都有她活跃的身影;她会主动向学校的同学介绍社工站,带他们到社工站玩耍;她还能主动提议开展活动,并与小伙伴们一同筹备。

就在今年年初,小月和小伙伴们一起组织了一场“小食会”。从活动环节的设计、主持稿的撰写、物资的采购,到活动的主持和开展,都是社工从旁协助,小月和小伙伴们共同主导完成的。小月还通过社工站的社区小导游培训,增进对社区的了解,成为了能带领他人参观社区、能讲述社区故事的小导游啦。

▲“小食会”主持人小月

▲小月正与小伙伴一起进行游戏设计

在粤西的社区中,还有许许多多的“小月”,他们比其他孩子成长得更为艰难,他们需要获得更多来自社会的帮助。社工们努力找到他们,为他们提供来自家庭和学校以外的支持,通过活动、通过交流,让他们得到更多的关爱,陪伴他们成长,激励他们展翅飞翔。让“小月们”能更加健康快乐地成长。

▲越来越开朗自信的小月