“Speaking out” for the First Time

Twelve-year-old Xiaoli is in sixth grade. She is a shy girl who rarely shares what she is thinking. She lives with her parents and grandparents in a small village in Fuchuan County, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. Their family makes a living by growing oranges on a small piece of land that is surrounded by vast mountains.

Xiaoli studies in the only primary school in her village. The school conducts classes such as Chinese language and mathematics. Apart from that, there are no other classes or extracurricular activities because the school has limited access to educational resources. As a result of this, students miss out on opportunities to fully develop their communication and life skills.

Xiaoli was in her school.

Xiaoli loves taking part in activities World Vision carries out in her community because they add fun into her after-school life and allows her to learn more. World Vision held an activity to raise awareness about drowning and how to prevent it in Xiaoli’s village. Xiaoli and ten other children were invited to speak about their concerns on safety in the village. Project staff hope that this activity could help children learn how to protect themselves and also give them an opportunity express, grow and to participate.

Xiaoli and her friends were very excited during the activity. They participated in discussions, shared freely about their thoughts and presented their requests. After that, everyone came together and put down on a large piece of white paper three areas in the village which they felt was most unsafe, and suggestions on how to make these area safer. At the end, Xiaoli and her friends summarized the discussion and hope that village leaders and parents would listen and value their sharing. The adults were very supportive of the activity and they were also very keen to hear what children in their community had to say.

Xiaoli (left) discussed with other children on the safety concerns of the village.

Xiaoli (middle) actively participated into the discussion.

When the children voted for Xiaoli to represent them to summarize the discussion, she was very nervous. But staff from World Vision and her friends kept encouraging her. This motivated Xiaoli to take on the challenge and to speak on behalf of all the children in her community. She used the white paper earlier and led everyone through the three unsafe areas identified, together with suggestions on how to solve these concerns. Lastly, she urged leaders and parents to prioritize this matter.

The adults were very impressed by the discussion and the ideas shared by the children. The Village Committee Chairperson said: “I didn’t realize our children have such insightful views. Their suggestions are really useful. We appreciate the safety concerns raised, the village committee and parents will work together to solve this problem.”

Xiaoli (second right) on behalf of the children to share their safety concerns with the village leaders and adults.

Xiaoli is thrilled by her first attempt to “speak-out” in public. “I’m so glad I participated in this activity. I didn’t think we would get so much affirmation for our opinions. I want to thank the big brothers and sisters from World Vision for organizing this, I will join them again in the future.” said Xiaoli through her now confident smile. (Written by Wu Dan from World Vision China Fuchuan Area Programme)

第一次“发声”练习

12岁的小莉今年正读小学六年级,她是一个腼腆的女孩子,平时不太敢表达自己的想法。她家住广西富川县的一个小村庄,同爸爸、妈妈、爷爷、奶奶住在一起。这里四面环山,家庭经济来源主要依靠家里种植的几亩柑橘。

 

小莉就读的学校是村里唯一的小学,学校教育资源有限,除了基础的语文、数学等文化课,就没有其他的艺术、生活技能等课程和课外活动了。孩子们没有太多表达和发展自己的机会。

小莉在学校

小莉喜欢参加宣明会在社区开展的活动,这些活动给她枯燥的课余生活带来许多乐趣,也能学到很多知识。不久前,宣明会在小莉所住的村子里开展防溺水公共教育活动。宣明会项目人员邀请了她和村里十多个孩子一起讨论村子的安全问题,项目人员希望借由这个活动,让孩子们学习到儿童安全的知识,也让他们有自我表达、发展和参与的机会。

 

小莉和其他小伙伴都很兴奋,讨论的过程热烈非凡,每个孩子都积极参与,从他们的视角提出了许多想法和需求。最终,大家一起讨论出了村里三个比较危险的地方,并写在大白纸上,还针对这几个危险的地方提出了改善的建议。讨论结束后,小莉和伙伴们都希望村里的领导和家长们可以一起来做个总结,让村里的大人们可以听到他们的声音,重视他们的想法。村里的成年人很支持这次的活动,他们也很想听听孩子们的心声……

小莉(左)与其他儿童一起讨论村子的安全问题。

小莉(中)积极参与讨论。

小伙伴们一致推举小莉做总结的发言人,这让她感到紧张和不安。宣明会工作人员和小伙伴不断鼓励她,她也很想挑战和突破自己,能代表小伙伴们在总结会上发出属于社区儿童的声音,最后她很勇敢地站了出来。她通过大白纸说出了村里的安全隐患以及如何解决这些问题,还带领大家一起去看了这三个安全隐患的地方,希望村里的领导和家长们可以引起重视。

 

大人们对于孩子们讨论出的结果给予了极大的肯定,更是对孩子们能提出独特的见解感到惊讶,村主任说:“想不到孩子们的视野那么宽广,孩子们说的很有建议性。对于讨论出的这些建议,村委和村里的家长们会重视起来,然后一起去解决。”

小莉(右二)与村子里的大人分享讨论结果。

小莉为自己的第一次“发声”感到兴奋:“很高兴参加了这次活动,想不到我们小孩子的想法也会得到肯定,很感谢宣明会的哥哥和姐姐开展这样的活动,以后我还会参加。”小莉腼腆的笑容里透着自信的光。(文/富川项目组 伍丹)