Embroider My Own Sky

Sitting in front of a half-finished embroidery work, Xiaohe smiled confidently. With the needle going up and down, a flower pattern was quickly completed. But she has not yet realized that herself has already become part of a beautiful picture.

Xiaohe was born in a small village of Peng Yang County in 1995. She lives together with her father, her disabled mother and her brother with paralysis. To take care of the family, Xiaohe’s father has to bear all the burden and stay at the village to do farm work. The born of Xiaohe once gave new hope to this family. But unfortunately, when Xiaohe reached the third grade, tragedy happened again to the poor family. Xiaohe’s legs got powerless and she could hardly walk by herself. The anxious father took Xiaohe to Beijing to see doctors. She was diagnosed as “muscle atrophy”. “When I received the diagnose report, I felt my world collapsed.” Xiaohe said.

Since the family cannot afford the expensive medical cost, Xiaohe’s father had no choice but took her back home. For the first three years, Xiaohe could still walk even not for long. So her father carried her to study with a motorbike every day, no matter how bad the weather is. However, after finishing the fifth grade, Xiaohe could no longer stand up and could no longer live without wheelchair. Neither could she go to school.

“I feel very awful at the beginning. It felt like that mom, brother and I have to live with the evil of ill for life. I felt guilty when seeing my parents living hard while I can do nothing to help them”, Xiaohe said. For this reason, she was always looking for opportunities to make herself valuable to the family.

Xiaohe learned about the cross-stitch from an occasional opportunity. She immediate felt her life got bright. “I can make shoe-pad by cross-stitch, and then sell them for money. It will help to relieve the hard life of our family.” Xiaohe asked her father buying her a pair of cross-stitch. At first, it was very hard. Because she got no experience, neither could she turn others for help. Her fingers were always pricked by the needle, however, never did she give up. She felt the happiness and satisfaction she had never felt when seeing the needle dancing on the clothes. However, after finishing the work, she could no longer afford to buy a new one. Xiaohe had to give up on cross-stitch, the happiness ended as well. “My sky becomes gloomy” She said.

After learning about Xiaohe’s situation, World Vision not only supported her to do recovery training, but also bought her pieces of cross-stitch. Xiaohe became so excited that she finished some of them very quickly. What made her more excited was that her works were finally sold. When receiving the money she made by her own hand, Xiaohe said “My sky is turning blue again.”

In early 2015, under the support of World Vision, Xiaohe attend embroidery training class held for people with disability. “These are the happiest days of my life. Under the instruction of tutor, I have made great progress. The tutor also praised me”, Xiaohe said gratefully.

The closing ceremony and auction was held together. A lot of charity groups were invited to support works of the disabled. When looking back to that day, Xiaohe said,” lots of people came that day. I have never been at such an occasion before. I’m very thankful to know so many people would like to help us.”

When talking about the future, Xiaohe said firmly, “I learned here not only the embroidery skills, but also that one needs to have self-confidence. The needle and thread carries not only my future, but also my strength and dream. I believe I can embroider my own sky.”

(Written by Yang Xubo)

“绣”出我的一片天

脸上洋溢着灿烂、自信的笑容,眉眼弯弯,身着红衣的小荷就这样坐在一幅半成的绣品前,手里的绣针上下翻飞,眨眼间一片花瓣就完成了。这样的小荷,浑然不知自己也是一幅美丽的画。

1995年,小荷出生在彭阳县的一个小山村。家里有四口人,父亲、患有小儿麻痹症的母亲、患有先天性下半身瘫痪的哥哥,还有小荷。由于家人需要照顾,小荷的父亲不能外出打工,只能在家务农。所有的重担都压在他的肩上。小荷的出生给这个家庭带来了希望。然而,好景不长。上三年级时,小荷出现了下肢无力的情况,几乎无法走路。心急如焚的父亲带着小荷到北京看病,最后诊断为:先天性肌肉萎缩。“拿到诊断结果的那一刻,我的天,塌了!”回忆中的小荷说。

由于家境贫困,小荷的父亲只好带着她返回了家乡。由于还能短时间走路,整整三年,小荷的父亲每天骑摩托车接送她上学、风雨无阻。上完五年级,小荷彻底站不起来了,她只能与轮椅为伴、辍学在家。

“刚开始的时候,我也很痛苦。妈妈、哥哥还有我,我们一生只和病魔做了朋友。只能靠轮椅生活的我什么也做不了。我讨厌自己,看着父母的辛苦我很内疚,不能尽子女的孝心,让我无法原谅自己。”小荷说。带着这样的心态,她一直在找寻,找一个机会,既可以让自己充实起来,也可以帮到家里。

偶然的机会,小荷知道了十字绣,她的心一下就活了:“我可以用十字绣做鞋垫之类的,可以卖钱,这样就可以贴补家里。”小荷央求父亲给她买了一幅十字绣。刚开始没有经验,遇到了很多困难,也没人能请教。那时候,小荷的十个手指头经常被针扎的布满针眼,但她咬紧牙关,绝不放弃。拿着针线在布上起舞,小荷的心前所未有的充实和快乐。然而,因为没钱买材料,小荷无奈的放弃了绣十字绣,她的快乐也戛然而止:“我的天又变的灰蒙蒙的。”

彷徨之际,宣明会了解到小荷的情况,不仅资助她去做康复训练,还买了一些十字绣送给她。这让小荷很开心,她兴奋的一连绣完了好几幅。最让她高兴的是,她的绣品终于卖出去了。拿到钱的那一刻,她无比激动:“这一刻,我的天变成了蓝色。”

2015年初,通过宣明会的资助,在父亲的陪伴下,小荷参加了残疾人刺绣编织培训。“这是我这十几年最开心的日子。以前刺绣有困难都要自己琢磨。现在有了老师的指导,我进步的很快。老师也夸我学的快、绣的好。”提起培训班的生活,小荷感激的说。
培训班的结业典礼与学员作品拍卖会同时举行,许多社会爱心团体被邀请到会,以实际行动支持残疾人,学员作品拍卖一空。谈到当天的盛况,小荷说:“活动现场来了很多人,这样的场面我从未经历过。看到有这么多爱心人士愿意帮助我们、支持我们,我心里非常感激。”

谈到以后的生活,小荷坚定的说:“培训班里不仅学到刺绣技术,还懂得人要对自己有信心。绣针和丝线不仅寄托了我的希望,相信它们会再度起舞,承载起我的坚强与梦想,相信我一定会绣出自己的一片天!”

(文/杨旭波)