Relief and Rehabilitation

In times of disasters, World Vision is often amongst the first group of international relief organizations to take prompt actions in response to the disasters to response. World Vision’s relief team would go to the affected areas in a timely manner to understand the situation and the needs of affected people, and to distribute relief materials to them according to their actual needs. Reconstruction working plan will be worked out afterwards.

Reconstruction work will also be done, which includes construction of residential areas, schools, infrastructures (bridges, roads, drinking water facilities, small scale water conservancy facilities), and livelihood restoration (distribution of fertilizers and seeds), etc.

Since 1982, World Vision has engaged in various relief operations in China, covering floods, earthquakes, snowstorms, mudslides and droughts. During 1991 East China Floods, World Vision took immediate action and invested USD 5 million in large-scale relief and reconstruction work in severely-affected areas. Subsequently, there were different scales of natural disasters including flooding and earthquakes in 1992, 1994, 1996 and between 2000 and 2014. World Vision also actively involved in relief and reconstruction work. In 2008, more than RMB 360 million was invested in the Wenchuan Earthquake.

To diminish the impact of disaster, World Vision has been promoting Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) knowledge and actions in communities. It includes trees and grass planting, ditch and dam construction, school and community focused DRR drills.

World Vision partners with schools, provincial level charity federations; local government bodies especially education bureaus, fire bureaus, and communities to build resilience. A natioanl DRR conference, co-organized by World Vision and the China Charity Federation was held in 2013 where NGO workers from 31 provinces and 23 cities in China attended. World Vision also partners with Institute of Psychology of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) for emergency response, with a focus on child protection and psychosocial support activities.  In 2015, the first National Conference on Child Protection in Emergency was jolintly organized by World Vision and CAS, with over 300 participants from government, academic institution, I/NGO, veteran volunteers of emergency responses.

OUR Projects

救灾与重建

灾难发生时,宣明会往往是第一批回应灾情的国际救援组织。宣明会的救援队伍会迅速前往灾区,了解灾情及灾民的急切需要,并按实际情况向灾民发放救援物资,计划日后的重建工作。重建一般包括民房、学校、基础设施建设(便民桥、道路、饮水工程、小型水利设施)、恢复生计(发放化肥、种子)等。

自1982年起,世界宣明会参与中国多项救灾工作,包括水灾、地震、雪灾、泥石流及旱灾。1991年华东水灾,宣明会第一时间作出回应,投入500万美元在重灾区进行大规模的救援及重建工作,随后于1992、1994、1996,和2000年至2014年国内各大小规模的水灾、地震和其它天灾中均积极参与救灾及重建的工作;因应2008年汶川大地震整项行动的投入也超过3.6亿元人民币(5,700万美元)。

为了减低灾难所带来的影响,宣明会十分重视防灾及减灾的工作,包括荒山造林、种草治沙、建设排水沟渠、河堤及其它水利工程,并开展了以学校及社区为本的防灾减灾项目,如防灾减灾演练、知识宣传、为学校安装防灾减灾设备等。

世界宣明会与学校、省级慈善会、本地政府部门如教育局、消防局及社区共同建设社区抗逆力。2013年,世界宣明会与中华慈善总会合办了全国性的防灾减灾研讨会,全国31省23市的非政府组织人员出席。此外,世界宣明会亦与中国社会科学院心理研究所在紧急救援回应上合作,特别集中在儿童保和心理支援活动方面。2015年,两间机构合办全国首个紧急救援中的儿童保护会议,参加者包括政府、学术团体、非政府组织及资深志愿者等逾300人。

项目

  • 紧急救援与灾后重建项目
    当有灾难发生时,世界宣明会的紧急救援队伍会迅速前往灾区,了解灾情及灾民的需要,并根据实际情况向灾民发放紧急救援物资,如口粮、临时住所、非口粮物资、生活与卫生用品,并开展相关服务,如儿童保护和心理援助。另外,宣明会也会开展灾后重建工作,帮助灾民恢...
  • 防灾减灾项目
    防灾减灾可以最有效的降低脆弱人群受灾难影响的风险和程度,提高儿童福祉,最大限度的减低灾难带来的损失和伤亡。宣明会亦会致力于提升能力与设备等活动,增加脆弱人群的复原力,特别是儿童防御灾难的意识和能力,及自我保护的技巧。 学校防灾减灾 ...